Online-Roleplaying.community

Go Back   Online-Roleplaying.community > Public Commonness > Adventurer's Escapades > Tournaments

Reply
Thread Tools
  #76  
Unread 17th of March, 2006, 10:21
Canadian's Avatar
Canadian
Ghoul [GM]

User is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member: #1674
Location: Ankh'Morpork
Posts: 228 (0.05 per day)
Well what if I don't want to use counterspell in the opening round?

IE:

Round2:
PlayerX readies to counterspell
Canadian assumes Full Defense

Round3:
PlayerX casts fireball. 10 damage to Canadian for failing his reflex save.
Canadian passes concentration check to cast while taking damage. Canadian casts Summon Monster IV and places the creature(s) next to PlayerX.

Round4:
Summoned creatures arrive and attack PlayerX
PlayerX passes concentration check, casts Dispel Magic to unsummon the monsters.
Canadian casts Quickened Magic Missile and Slow at PlayerX.

And so on.

Why should I have to use a counterspell? I didn't build my character to sit there taking turns exchanging blows with another caster. I built him to cast spells while his opponent casts spells at the same time. If my opponent wants to stand by while I'm casting spells so they can counter then go ahead, but I sure don't expect to be doing that.
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Unread 17th of March, 2006, 10:22
Canadian's Avatar
Canadian
Ghoul [GM]

User is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member: #1674
Location: Ankh'Morpork
Posts: 228 (0.05 per day)
Originally Posted by Boomlaor Re: second round casting

What about casting a spell which takes a full round to cast (e.g. summon monster)? It wouldn't complete 'till round 3.
I second that question. And if that's allowed, then I'm dropping one of my feats for the Delay Spell metamagic feat
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Unread 17th of March, 2006, 11:13
Lord Twig's Avatar
Lord Twig
Nightwing

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member: #1477
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,481 (0.32 per day)
Black Plauge: My example was countering a quickened magic missile. After that was counterspelled the caster could then follow up with a 5th level spell as a standard action on the same round and before his opponent could ready another action.

Boomlaor: No, you can't start casting a spell on the 2nd round just like you can't prepare an action to cast a spell.

Think of it this way. When the duel begins you have six seconds to cast a spell. Then you have six seconds to prepare (a readied action to counterspell). So if seven seconds after the duel starts you start casting a spell, the archmage will counter it immediately, he won't wait to see if it comes in after the twelve second start time.
__________________
The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various characters do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of the player.
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Unread 17th of March, 2006, 11:36
Lord Twig's Avatar
Lord Twig
Nightwing

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member: #1477
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,481 (0.32 per day)
Canadian: You absolutely will not be forced to counterspell if you don't want to. The reason for the 2nd round counterspell action is to give the duelist who loses initiative an extra chance to avoid a one-spell-kill besides just a saving throw.

Really, whoever wins initiative doesn't have to prepare to do anything. He is going to go first on the 3rd round anyway. It is just tradition that he prepare to counterspell, whether he is going to use it or not.

You can check in Complete: Arcane on page 175 for the rules of the Spell Duel that this contest is based on.
__________________
The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various characters do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of the player.
Reply With Quote
  #80  
Unread 17th of March, 2006, 11:53
Lord Twig's Avatar
Lord Twig
Nightwing

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member: #1477
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,481 (0.32 per day)
Originally Posted by Canadian Well what if I don't want to use counterspell in the opening round?

IE:

Round2:
PlayerX readies to counterspell
Canadian assumes Full Defense

Round3:
PlayerX casts fireball. 10 damage to Canadian for failing his reflex save.
Canadian passes concentration check to cast while taking damage. Canadian casts Summon Monster IV and places the creature(s) next to PlayerX.

Round4:
Summoned creatures arrive and attack PlayerX
PlayerX passes concentration check, casts Dispel Magic to unsummon the monsters.
Canadian casts Quickened Magic Missile and Slow at PlayerX.

And so on.

Why should I have to use a counterspell? I didn't build my character to sit there taking turns exchanging blows with another caster. I built him to cast spells while his opponent casts spells at the same time. If my opponent wants to stand by while I'm casting spells so they can counter then go ahead, but I sure don't expect to be doing that.
You are a little off on the timing of things above. Here is how it would actually play out.

Round2:
PlayerX readies to counterspell
Canadian assumes Full Defense

Round3:
PlayerX casts fireball. 10 damage to Canadian for failing his reflex save. (Damage would actually average 31.5 points of damage on a failed save, but that's not really important here.)
Canadian begins casting Summon Monster IV. There is no need for a concentration check.

Round4:
PlayerX casts a spell, let's say Magic Missile, and damages Canadian for another 10 damage. (Actual average damage would be 17.5.)
Canadian, if he is still up, makes a concentration check to keep his Summon Monster IV spell. Assuming he passes the creature appears next to PlayerX.
Canadian's turn the monster attacks PlayerX and Canadian casts Quickened Magic Missile and Slow at PlayerX.

Now, you could have added a counterspell to stop the fireball and still be able to do all of the other actions that were listed for you in the exact same order.

It would look like this:

Round2:
PlayerX readies to counterspell
Canadian readies to counterspell

Round3:
PlayerX casts fireball.
Canadian's action is triggered and the fireball is countered (assuming you make all the rolls). Canadian's initiative is now set to just before PlayerX.

Round4:
Canadian begins to cast Summon Monster IV.
PlayerX casts Magic Missile and damages Canadian for 10 damage. Canadian, makes a concentration check to keep his Summon Monster IV spell.

Round5:
Canadian's monster appears.
Canadian's turn the monster attacks PlayerX and Canadian casts Quickened Magic Missile and Slow at PlayerX.
PlayerX, (if he is still up) can now cast something else.

And on it would go.
__________________
The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various characters do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of the player.

Last edited by Lord Twig; 17th of March, 2006 at 12:11.
Reply With Quote
  #81  
Unread 18th of March, 2006, 03:20
random_person_number_873's Avatar
random_person_number_873
Ghoul

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member: #1521
Posts: 171 (0.04 per day)
This may sound like a stupid question, but I haven't played many spell casters and don't know all the rules for spell casting. What is the DC for the saves on spells? It's spellcasting level + ??. And I once again apologize for my ignorance.
__________________
Now I lay me down to sleep
I pray the funk will make me freak
If I should die before I waked
Allow me Lord to rock out naked
-Red Hot Chili Peppers
Reply With Quote
  #82  
Unread 18th of March, 2006, 03:21
Darius's Avatar
Darius
The Phantom Poster [Epic GM]

User is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Member: #1110
Location: Maryland
Posts: 3,490 (0.71 per day)
DC=10+spell level+modifying attribute bonus
Reply With Quote
  #83  
Unread 18th of March, 2006, 07:23
Darken's Avatar
Darken
Mohrg [GM]

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member: #1476
Posts: 967 (0.21 per day)
Can you cast Touch spells in the first round? Touch spells don't target anything, that just create a charge; can I choose to cast a Touch spell in the first round (not touching anyone, of course, as it's definitely out of reach and against the rules) and just hold the charge, then charge in to deliver the charge (or have familiar do so) in the 3rd round, thus negating the possibility of the spell being countered in the 2nd round?
__________________
Darken

Light, is the lack of darkness.
Reply With Quote
  #84  
Unread 18th of March, 2006, 08:19
random_person_number_873's Avatar
random_person_number_873
Ghoul

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member: #1521
Posts: 171 (0.04 per day)
LT: would there possibly be any exceptions to allow a divine spell caster as an Entropomancer in the tourney? I really wanna try one out.
__________________
Now I lay me down to sleep
I pray the funk will make me freak
If I should die before I waked
Allow me Lord to rock out naked
-Red Hot Chili Peppers
Reply With Quote
  #85  
Unread 18th of March, 2006, 09:58
Lord Twig's Avatar
Lord Twig
Nightwing

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member: #1477
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,481 (0.32 per day)
Darken: No, I am going to stick with the targeting yourself spells. You could of course target yourself with a touch spell. The purpose of the 1st round is to give you a chance to get at least one short duration defensive spell up.

Random: No, arcane casters only this time around.
__________________
The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various characters do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of the player.
Reply With Quote
  #86  
Unread 21st of March, 2006, 15:46
Boomlaor's Avatar
Boomlaor
Devourer

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member: #1478
Location: St. George, UT
Posts: 1,151 (0.25 per day)
is it possible to scribe a scroll with a metamagic feat applied? If so, how much extra does it cost?
Reply With Quote
  #87  
Unread 22nd of March, 2006, 06:58
Black Plauge's Avatar
Black Plauge
PhD in Physics [Epic GM]

User is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Member: #192
Location: Old Town, ME
Posts: 6,801 (1.18 per day)
Yes. Use the metamagic adjusted level to compute the cost, otherwise the cost calculation is the same.
__________________
Physics is like sex. Sometimes it yields practical results, but that's not why we do it.
-Richard Feynman
Reply With Quote
  #88  
Unread 24th of March, 2006, 08:56
Boomlaor's Avatar
Boomlaor
Devourer

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member: #1478
Location: St. George, UT
Posts: 1,151 (0.25 per day)
I had what I thought was a great idea, but I want to make sure i'm not overcomplicating things. Reading a scroll normally is a standard action. If I scribe a quickened scroll, is reading it still a standard action or is it a free action?
Reply With Quote
  #89  
Unread 24th of March, 2006, 10:35
Lord Twig's Avatar
Lord Twig
Nightwing

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member: #1477
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,481 (0.32 per day)
Activating a scroll is a standard action by itself. So a quickened scroll would not be worthwhile. It makes me wonder about spells with longer casting times however.
__________________
The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various characters do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of the player.
Reply With Quote
  #90  
Unread 25th of March, 2006, 10:42
Boomlaor's Avatar
Boomlaor
Devourer

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member: #1478
Location: St. George, UT
Posts: 1,151 (0.25 per day)
would it be possible to deliver touch spells with a shuriken of spellstoring? And if so, I assume that the shuriken would be recoverable between rounds?
Reply With Quote
  #91  
Unread 28th of March, 2006, 08:56
Lord Twig's Avatar
Lord Twig
Nightwing

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member: #1477
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,481 (0.32 per day)
Boomlaor: Sorry I didn't answer your question sooner.

Since shuriken count as ammunition they would be destroyed after they hit their target, and might be destroyed even if they miss. Fifty +1 spell storing shurikens would cost 8310gp. I couldn't find any rules on this, but I will rule that all 50 shuriken can store a total of one spell. You could not store 50 spells, one in each shuriken. After the spell is expended by a shuriken that hit, all other shurikens would be just +1 until you could cast another spell into them. Also, you would have to buy all 50 shurikens and spend the full 8310gp. This goes with the rule that all charged items must be purchased with full charges.
__________________
The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various characters do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of the player.
Reply With Quote
  #92  
Unread 28th of March, 2006, 09:02
Boomlaor's Avatar
Boomlaor
Devourer

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member: #1478
Location: St. George, UT
Posts: 1,151 (0.25 per day)
One last question then, would 50 shuriken as described for 8310gp violate the 5000gp cap on expendibles rule? If so I'll change back to the kama.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Unread 28th of March, 2006, 09:36
Black Plauge's Avatar
Black Plauge
PhD in Physics [Epic GM]

User is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Member: #192
Location: Old Town, ME
Posts: 6,801 (1.18 per day)
The signup thread has been cleaned and locked. All deleted posts are recoverable, so let me know if you need something from one of those posts.

I think you should still be able to edit your posts in the sign-up if you want to add images. If you can't, let me know and I'll re-open it so that you can do so.
__________________
Physics is like sex. Sometimes it yields practical results, but that's not why we do it.
-Richard Feynman
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Unread 28th of March, 2006, 09:52
Boomlaor's Avatar
Boomlaor
Devourer

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member: #1478
Location: St. George, UT
Posts: 1,151 (0.25 per day)
Nope, no more edit button.
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Unread 28th of March, 2006, 11:20
Lord Twig's Avatar
Lord Twig
Nightwing

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member: #1477
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,481 (0.32 per day)
Originally Posted by Boomlaor One last question then, would 50 shuriken as described for 8310gp violate the 5000gp cap on expendibles rule? If so I'll change back to the kama.
No, the 5,000gp cap was for one-use items. Since this has basically 50 uses it will fall into the same category as wands. So as long as it is under 10,000gp you are ok.

It is probably good that you can not edit the entries as they should not change during the game. Adding pictures would be fine though.
__________________
The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various characters do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of the player.
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Unread 28th of March, 2006, 13:08
Black Plauge's Avatar
Black Plauge
PhD in Physics [Epic GM]

User is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Member: #192
Location: Old Town, ME
Posts: 6,801 (1.18 per day)
I'll reopen it for pictures and then close it again when the matches start.
__________________
Physics is like sex. Sometimes it yields practical results, but that's not why we do it.
-Richard Feynman
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Unread 28th of March, 2006, 13:46
Boomlaor's Avatar
Boomlaor
Devourer

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member: #1478
Location: St. George, UT
Posts: 1,151 (0.25 per day)
Just got a copy of complete arcane, so I swapped out a couple spells for Frizznik (was strictly SRD before). I'll change them back if I need to since this is at the last second (obviously couldn't change them during the tourney.)
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Unread 28th of March, 2006, 14:33
Flagg Thornington's Avatar
Flagg Thornington
Mohrg

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member: #952
Location: Sir Texas Sir
Posts: 1,026 (0.21 per day)
So how do we determine character position in terms of three-dimensional movement, for example Flying?
__________________
We all live n learn, when we survive.
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Unread 28th of March, 2006, 14:36
Lord Twig's Avatar
Lord Twig
Nightwing

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member: #1477
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,481 (0.32 per day)
Boomlaor: I will allow it since you got it in before the matches actually started.

Flagg: If there is flying I will note the character's height next to his marker.
__________________
The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various characters do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of the player.
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Unread 29th of March, 2006, 09:34
Lord Twig's Avatar
Lord Twig
Nightwing

User is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member: #1477
Location: Temecula, CA
Posts: 1,481 (0.32 per day)
I have modified the rules to reflect that you may take the total defense action on the second round instead of readying a counterspell. I have also added a line to reinforce the no-movement rule during the first two rounds.
__________________
The opinions, beliefs and viewpoints expressed by the various characters do not necessarily reflect the opinions, beliefs and viewpoints of the player.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +10. The time now is 04:56.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Graphics by Koert van Kleef (T0N!C) and Lyle Warren